Simple but extremely exciting, the exhibition tells a story of almost 800 years on luminous, circular exhibition panels. With the little nun Anna, children have their very own companion through the show, who has a surprise in store for them at the end. The exhibition and the monastery are therefore particularly suitable as a place of excursions for school classes in the Oberhavel district. The Zehdenick monastery, founded in 1250 - according to legend to commemorate a host miracle - is one of the oldest Cistercian monasteries in Brandenburg. It quickly developed into a place of pilgrimage and a spiritual-cultural and economic center of the area. In addition to the exhibition in the north wing, the preserved part of the cloister and the ruins of the dormitory with the two gable walls are worth seeing. The monastery garden with orchard and herb garden, historical cemetery and the area of the former monastery church, which has been prepared as a place of worship with a wall cross, altar and benches in the open air, complete the monastery complex. During the summer months, the picturesque monastery courtyard and the Conventual Hall are used as a backdrop for concerts and events organized by the Protestant Monastery. After the visit, the monastery café invites you to stop for coffee and cake.

Museum and café opening hours: 15.4. to 15.10.: Tuesdays to Sundays, 12 to 17 h, closed on Mondays, 16.10. to 14.4.: Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Fridays to Sundays 12 to 17 h, closed on Mondays and Thursdays, museum entrance fees: adults 4 euros, children over 6 years 2 euros, groups of 20 persons or more 3 euros, guided tours by appointment.

Contact: Evangelisches Stift Kloster Zehdenick, Gabriele Pielke, Im Kloster 2, 16792 Zehdenick, phone: 03307/4205172 (during opening hours), e-mail:,